14 comments on “Odaesan National Park (오대산)

  1. Pingback: Highest Mountains in South Korea | KLIMBING KOREAN MOUNTAINS

  2. Oh you two adventure ers! Tom, your verbage and photos make it seem like we are right there with you! :) Interesting point of view on the photo under the caption: We carried on. Sometimes the trail had steps that we could easily see: were you looking UP the stairs or DOWN the stairs?!!!
    Love you, Mom

    • I’m glad you’re following our mischief on the trails! Hiking is so much fun. Those pictures of the steps… those are going UP! The quiet, rainy, foggy forest was pretty fun in Odaesan NP!

  3. Pingback: Ulsanbawi Course (울산바위) | KLIMBING KOREAN MOUNTAINS

  4. Pingback: Biseondae (비선대) | KLIMBING KOREAN MOUNTAINS

  5. Pingback: Daecheongbong Peak (대청봉) | KLIMBING KOREAN MOUNTAINS

  6. Hey, your blog is great. I find myself here often looking for info. My girlfriend and I are also doing all the national parks, including the marine and historical one. We just did Juwangsan last weekend for our fifteenth and it was amazing, you’ll love it. Also, I’m from Wisconsin. So we’re like best friends. Anyways, keep up the good work. Check us out at caseyanddon.wordpress.com as well. We’re trying to blog about our park adventures, too. Good luck!

    • Geez la wheeze what took us this long to connect? Thanks for dropping by my fellow cheesehead. What city are you from? My wife and I went to Byeonsanbando last weekend for camping and hiking (my two favorite things). Your blog is also great.. I see you’re up in Seoul, I think it’s AWESOME you’re getting out to all the parks. Happy trails – and Hike ON!

      • I’m from Madison. You guys? Went to undergrad in Minneaplosi though so I’m a traitor to the Badgers. Thanks for checking out our blog. Its definitely Seoul oriented. We’re jealous of your car, but I also kind
        of enjoy the challenge of figuring out public transportation. Keep on writing. I’ll definitely keep reading.

      • Haha, small world. I grew up in Wisconsin Rapids (wife was air-force kid so moved around a bit) but we met in college at UW-La Crosse, got married and lived in Madison (just south in Belleville) for 3 years before moving here to Korea. We did the buses/trains for 3-4 months but we had quite a commute to work and loved getting out quickly on the weekends, so a car made sense pretty quickly. It’s been super-valuable to have! Props to you guys for getting out of Seoul and seeing the rest of Korea… mad props.

  7. Pingback: Korea’s East Coast Road Trip Highlights.

  8. Pingback: South Korea's 21 National Parks - Shared through Photos and Bloggers - Bobo and ChiChi

  9. The fog looks really beautiful and I don’t mind the rain much unless it makes the ground very slippery. I am heading to Odaesan next weekend and I guess it might be the rainy season there during this time? Not sure on what trail to take yet but maybe you could recommend a peak with a great view that is not too hard?

    • Hey Doria, monsoon season can be gnarly and June gets pretty hot but it’s definitely still doable. Just check the weather and being extra water in case it’s hot, but there’s nearly always shops at the trailhead to top up your supplies before you begin. In terms of a trail I don’t have an exact recommendation but remember it wasn’t all too challenging to get up to this particular peak. Good luck and have fun!!

Leave a Reply

